Lands End to John O’Groats – Final Day

Posted: August 23, 2013 in BSO British School of Osteopathy, charity, Fundraising, Health, John O'Groats, Lands End, Osteopathy, scotland, UK
Tags: , ,

Finally the last day arrived; a day earlier than planned. So I was in high spirit and looking to do what I thought was a shorter distance compared to the preceeding 5 days.

Off I went, leaving Alness behind, I moved at a very good pace for the first 15miles, then the downward spiral started.

At first, I thought it was the undulating topography, then I realized I didnt have dinner the previous night and only had a typical breakfast earlier; blame it on hunger. 20th mile and I saw a restaurant and some food. It was only mid day.

But my woes was just beginning. Leaving the restaurant and my spirit high again, I dived back into the race with a relish, I was doing averagely well at 11m/h considering the climbs. Then I noticed a fault with my rear gears. responding It feels rusty to change and thus not  efficiently when I need it. Ignoring this, I clambered on but it was getting tougher.

There was massive headwind. And the mist rising from the sea next door was increasing and causing poor visibility. So strong was the fog that it felt as if I am cycling in the cloud. While this was thrilling, my fear on the other hand was about vehicles not able to see me on an A-road. I was petrified to say the least.

The fog was very thick and it was cold – I dont mind the later – and there was constant notice of likely iced roads.

At Helmsdale, only 47miles done and it was 4pm, I stopped for another food. Not that I was hungry but because in this empty Scotland, my next possible food is 20 odd miles ahead. With the way its going, they could be closed before I get there… I was right.

Setting out from Helmsdale, I clocked 10 miles and a puncture happened. With the fog thick as cloud and almost tangible, my worse nightmare had just begun.

It was then I realised that my little hand pump wont work. Somehow, I managed to use all I can. I was done in about 50minutes. But my tire was 75% inflated and no more. So to go faster is a dream like flogging a dead horse.

And at this point, I was very downcast and furious. But still, my excitement of doing this trip, the many discovery of human kindness, the beauties of nature, the immeasurable support of my friends, families & innumerable acquaintances and fans is way too big to allow a dejected spirit in.

I called my hotel and informed them I am running extremely late. They were kind too and offered to leave written instructions with key and the reception door open. The goodnesses never stop, I thought.

So I ploughed on climbing up and up and up and barely coming down. 48miles, 44, 38, 32, 29, the distance kept reducing by every one pedal although quite slow. The half-filled tyre isnt helping.

I recounted my setback, they were plenty; a puncture, improperly inflated tyres, strong headwind, thick fog – my fingers and helmet were covered with light frost – undulating but rising topography, the miles. Great!

But also, I counted my blessings, too many to list; I am the winner. Though not yet, but I am and must seal it no matter what it takes.

What it took was a slowed ride in danger of fast and furious traffic in thick fog and no souls around. A 1.5miles detour due to road closure for projects. And it was 12:15am when I finally arrived at my hotel door. I made it.

Welcome to John O’Groats. 900miles conquered. Very little disturbances including just 2 punctures in 10 days and here I am.

What can I say? Was I selfish to have done taken on this unchallenge? What is the gain? While there is a great side, there is also a selfish aspect, I thought. But in all, the ability to take on a voluntary challenge, to dare myself and reach my goal, albeit not a greedy or violent one, is satisfying.

In the midst of the confusion, think of my life-long muscle and bone pain that leaves my legs debilitated and useless, think of the fact that I could bow and succumb to that ailment and never move, think of the many other people that cannot move even though they may, like me, wish to take up a challenge; think of the many poor people who are immobileor bedridden because they cannot afford healthcare; think of my own mother who was ejected from the hospital at the peak of her illness of which she died 2 years later… just think!

Whatever we can do to be on top of the life we have, we should do it but watch our ego and pride. I am glad and appreciative that with the painful muscle and bones, the poor legs, I have the opportunity to get a free alternative healthcare from the British School of Osteopathy (BSO)and it has improved my life immensely the past 3 years. So putting my body through this rigorous exercise as a sacrifice to give a little back so that others may benefit from it is worth it. Of course, it could be selfish especially as BSO had not asked me to pay back in any way. Yet taking up a reasonable as this is a reassurance that while there is life, there definitely is hope.

Never give up.

My fundraising page is still open so kindly donate and/or ask your contacts to share in my joy. The page is here: www.bmycharity.com/godwyns4BSO

Join the conversation on twitter or on facebook if you like to or leave a comment here.

Thank you everyone.

Comments
  1. Simeon London says:

    Amazing trip! Well done Goodwyns, we are all very proud of you and grateful for your efforts for the BSO. I hope we can help you recover from your epic journey. Best wishes, Simeon London, Head of Clinical Practice, BSO.

    Like

Leave a comment