Christmas volunteering…

Posted: December 30, 2015 in Voluntary

20160105_001135This Christmas I returned to volunteer for Crisis at Christmas for my 8th year. Once again, it was a reviving and humbling experience.

I did my last shift on the 28th December. Once again, I know that my tears cannot solve any problem; but I sensed and saw the value of a hug, the dignity of a respectful handshake, the dignifying impact of listening and of course, the satisfaction of a warm shower, a hot meal and a heated space to sit down in even if for that fleeting moment. All are things most of us may take for granted, but to someone who is homeless and with multiple other issues as homelessness goes with, these are invaluable things that makes a whole world of difference, albeit temporarily.

Money has a role to play but it is not all. So, never say there is nothing you can do because you dont have the money to spare/give. One of my fellow volunteers could barely climb the stairs; she is in her 70s, and she was just as useful as I was – well, I too ignore my fibromyalgia and be on my feet for hours, yet I can give that little.

So thanks to all of my fellow volunteers, who although coming from different walks of life worked together like one machine. Awesome!

Thanks also to the shift leaders of my first-ever Crisis, Ali Boyce-Bellair, Sumita Shah & their team for their encouraging welcome on that first year to continue 8years on.

And thanks to my wonderful boyfriend who not only supports me to go for it but has joined me too, volunteering at another centre.

For me, this is one of what Christ-like is. As the writer of the hymn, ‘In the bleak midwinter’ wrote in the last verse:

“What can I give [him], poor as I am?
If I were a shepherd, I would bring a lamb.
If I were I a wise man, I would do my part.
Yet, what I can I give, give my heart.”

I hope that as you enjoy your celebrations, you’d find something to share… not just for the festivities, but always, every day, every time. It could be a penny, a handshake, a listening ear, a wave; but never under-estimate the power of giving and sharing. It can be the drop of water that quenched the fiery thirst.

Leave a comment